Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The majority of governing bodies around the world prioritise economic improvement as their major aim. However, another part opposes this opine by stressing the importance of the development of other sectors such as health and education. For sustainable development of a nation, the progress of health and education is a must compared to economic development. hence this writer believes that governments should be prioritised the other section as well with the economic progress. to begin with, the economy is the backbone of a country since, with a good economy most problems of the community such as health, food and education can be solved. Furthermore, with a good economy, the purchasing power of the community will be high and this will lead to a happy nation. For instance, according to recent research conducted by Oxford University has found, the majority of the people in a country mainly demand a good economy from their governments rather than other facilities. hence, most governments, try to please their people by providing a good economy rather than health and education. On the other hand, for sustainable development of a country, economic progress is insufficient since most ratings around the world that measure the development of a country focused on other indices such as health and education as well. Unfortunately, the majority of governments mainly focused on money and there is no plan to develop other sectors such as health and education. For example, most of the African countries have a good economy since they have fossil fuels, but they do not rank as developed due to the poor living standards of the people. In conclusion, even though some governments mainly focus on economic development, sustainable development of a country needs the development of other sectors such as health and education. Hence. this writer wishes to opine that, governments should give priority to other sectors of development same as the economic development.