In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything they try hard enough what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

Children are the future of any nation and ought to be trained in the right direction to become better citizens. It is believed in certain cultures that hard work is a key to success. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of the guidance provided to the children. Admittedly, there are some minor drawbacks to this message. Parents and teachers need to make sure the message is interpreted in a correct manner, otherwise it might lead to certain issues. There are certain individuals who work hard and do business, but they do not have moral values. For example, even a criminal has to work hard to plan a homicide, hence just providing this message may not be helpful. Furthermore, a successful person needs to have the necessary qualities of love, compassion towards others. Therefore, along with this message, parents need to ensure that children develop ethics. On the other hand, there are a lot of people who have ethics imbibed in their personalities have become prosperous with hard work and determination and contributed back to the community. For instance, the industrialist Mr Ratan Tata always followed ethics while doing business. Young adults should get inspired by such role models. During terrorist attacks on the Taj Hotel in Mumbai, not only hotel employees, but also street vendors who are impacted are supported financially. This is a clear example that indicates that along with hard work, empathy and compassion are required. To summarize, parents and teachers should ensure children are not off track and they comprehend this message accurately.