Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many nations are not different from other countries due to the fact that they are offering people an opportunity to acquire the exact kind of goods anywhere. I believe this is beneficial because it enables a country to have increased income and also reduces its dependence on foreign aid. First and foremost, when people purchase a variety of goods from anywhere in the world, it helps to bring in more money to a country. To put this in perspective, all governments are entitled to a certain amount of money on all imported goods that enter a country through taxation. Thus, when people buy things from anywhere else that is supposed to be imported, it means that the authorities have another source of income. Take, for instance, in a survey conducted in Zambia on the benefits of imported goods to the government, it was determined that they added more than 20 per cent to the income of the nation as a whole. Therefore, this is a reason many people including myself believe this is a positive route to take. The second plus point this brings is that it assists the country to lessen its dependence on help from other countries. This time around, many governments especially from the developing nations rely heavily on the financial donations of other countries. Henceforth, the funds obtained from the taxed goods that people buy can be used to boost its economy and reduce foreign dependence. For example, many developing countries in Africa are now able to sustain themselves because they gain more than 50% from the imports. Certainly, in order for a nation to assume the status of being self-reliant, it has to depend on the goods people buy from anywhere around the globe. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my stance that when people purchase goods from anywhere in the world, they bring more income to a country and help in lessening its dependence on foreign aid. These benefits add value to every nation.