Some people argue that keeping pets is beneficial for longevity while others believe that household animals are not healthy for people to have as companions.

Some Individuals have their opinions regarding owning a pet could potentially be beneficial for living a longer life. Whereas, other communities argue that having pets in your home is not a good option for humans to have as their companions.In this essay, I will write about the two different arguments and include my personal experience with owning a domestic animal. Nowadays it is a very common factor for humans to have animals as pets. A lot of humans believes that having animals as a companion will bring them not only happiness but, also a longer life. Furthermore, a pet could have the ability to help a lot of these people have a healthier lifestyle. For instance, could include them having regular exercise, where they take their pet for a long-distance walk, this would not only be beneficial for their physical health, but also for their mental health. Another example is in Australia where a recent study that was done in 2020 has shown that individuals that own a pet have up to 75% chance of having longevity than other populations that choose not to. On the other hand, having a pet does come with a lot of responsibilities that some might now have the time or energy for. Subsequently, few individuals have shown to put themselves more at risk by purchasing an animal that might require more than others. To illustrate that, a friend of mine decided to get a lizard that not only required large pieces of meat for their daily food intake, my friend was also never able to touch or hold his pet as this could have been very dangerous for him. To sum up, there are people that think that owning a pet is the greatest thing for their family and they also believe that animals at home give them a reason to live. Whereas, others have their beliefs that an animal is not suited to be in a home. In saying this, I do believe that having a pet does give so much more meaning to living and for that will bring us so much more happiness and for that give us a larger chance of living longer.