Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is true that the number of car owners has increased so quickly over the past three decades, causing traffic jams in several cities in the world. There are various reasons that support this approach, and there are a variety of measures that can be implemented by the government to solve this issue. There are so many reasons why this trend is becoming more realistic and to support this idea. The first contributing factor is the environmental problem since an increasing figure for cars, which release carbon dioxide, causes climate change, global warming, and air pollution problems. For instance, there is evidence that many people in Bangkok and Chiangmai have respiratory problems due to bad particles from CO2 emissions. Another point to be considered is the number of people that move away from major cities to rural areas. Instead of staying in big cities with traffic congestion and stressful life, the majority of people nowadays preferring to live in suburban areas with more of nature and fresh air. However, there are three aspects that could be used to tackle those problems. Firstly, the government should be more serious about improving public transportation in big cities such as enhancing sky trains, and underground trains, using new models of public buses, and making a precise bus schedule. Moreover, the government might consider increasing tax on imported cars, which can certainly reduce the proportion of cars on roads and create more revenues for the government to support other fields. For example, developing public infrastructure, education, and public welfare. Lastly, the government should make a campaign in order to raise public awareness, encouraging people to use alternative methods of transportation. In conclusion, it is a fact that the figure for cars is increasing for the given reasons, but steps can definitely be taken to solve those issues.