Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problem. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the eating habits of people have changed drastically. They consume more processed foods packed with excessive sugar levels which lead them to face enormous health-related issues. I strongly agree that to reduce consumption, sugar-packed products should be sold at higher prices. To begin with, many people over-consume sugary products because they are cheap and easy to cook. Due to busy lifestyles, a lot of people do not get time to cook their meals in homes and they prefer to eat junk meals in restaurants to save their time and money. These restaurants offer cheap soft drinks with meals to attract their customers. For example, in the USA many fast-food restaurants offer free refills on sodas. As a result, customers tend to have two or three sodas at a meal. I believe a regulation to increase prices could restrain people to buy and excessive usage of sugary products. Furthermore, making high-sugar products more expensive can promote healthy eating choices among people. The processed products also contain high levels of cholesterol and fibre leading to many cardiovascular diseases and obesity which are common nowadays. By increasing the prices of processed meals to a point at which people are unable to afford regularly, they may turn to affordable and healthy food options. For instance, packed orange juice costs two times less than fresh juice, if it will become costly then customers will definitely prefer to buy fresh juice. Although fresh foodstuff also contains sugar natural products are healthier than processed products. To conclude, sugar-sweetened products should be made more costly to refrain people to buy because at present they are cheaper and more affordable. Another reason is that people will turn to a healthy lifestyle if they become cheaper than junk foods.