Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, teenagers spend most of their time off school at shopping centres. However, some people believe that it is a negative trend for both young kids and society and I completely agree with this statement. Younger generations are not interested in outdoor activities, anymore. This is due to the fact that they prefer going to places that provide all sorts of accommodations such as restaurants, cinemas and shops. In addition, it is possible to go to shopping malls regardless of the climate. For instance, during the summer holidays, groups of teenagers gather in malls to run away from the hot weather because they are air-conditioned places. Hence, it is easier for young people to meet their friends in those places. However, some parents assume that it is safer for their kids to have fun in a controlled environment since they would know exactly where their children are and they would be able to reach them at any time if something bad might happen. While there may be some justifications for parents to consider spending time at malls safer for their children, it is also true that it is fundamental for young kids to play sports, participate in club activities or do part- time jobs during their free time. This would help them to meet their peers in a socially aware environment and might give them the opportunity to find out more about their passions and interests. For example, research about entertainment activities among high school kids showed that those who played sports or volunteered were keener on finding well-paid jobs and going to good universities than those who spent most of their free time in shopping malls. In conclusion, I agree with the fact that it is a dangerous habit for young people to spend their free time in shopping centres because it may improve teenagers' laziness and loneliness.