Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling if for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is often argued that recycling is essentially done by the government by enforcing mandatory laws. I partially agree with this statement. While government plays a crucial role in the process of recycling, individuals are equally responsible to carry out this activity. To begin with, if the legislature makes recycling compulsory then this will automatically increase the number of goods which are produced by recycling. By, this the cost of the product will decrease and profit margin will increase and consequently the economy of the nation will rise. For instance, in China, whose major GDP depends upon the manufacturing of electronic items, the majority of its electronics use recyclable components due to this fact it is the world's one of biggest economies. However, the role of each person is also very essential if we want to raise recycling. Common citizens can also contribute to recycling significantly if they get proper education about the selection of materials that they used in their day to day life. By motivating them to use the things that can be recycled easily one can directly increase the recycling. For instance, in,India a large proportion of citizens are using Bamboo products as an alternative to plastic counterparts and thus enforcing recycling. In conclusion, while some argue that government should handle recycling solely, I believe that individual involvement is also a necessary factor to bring out the desirable results. By making strict laws and educating citizens to opt for eco-friendly products recycling can be increased successfully.