Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problem. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, lots of ready foods and drinks including a high amount of sugar, which is harmful to our body. A prevalent idea to tackle current problem is raising their price. However, it does not make deep sense to me, since I prefer educational and cultural strategies which aim increasing people's awareness. In my opinion, not just an economic approach is sufficient to solve this predicament. Economic solutions have been one of the most frequent ideas people come up with first. For example, more taxes or fines be set to increase social respect toward new boundaries or key regulations. That is a way of social control common in some countries and has its merits and demerits. Apart from it would affect public behaviour rapidly and simply. But eventually, we need more sustainable strategies involving public contribution, so, making sugary products at a higher price is not our priority. In the other words, raising public awareness via media affairs or other social activities such as holding public workshops in medical centres, universities or schools, can be considered as an alternative way of coping with this problem. For instance, educational programs produced by the partnership of Health Ministry and public radio and television to clarify the harms of over-consuming sugar. Multi-media content that could be published on the internet or popular social media would be effective as well. Food consultants have a key role in arousing all the generations to have a healthy, less sugary diet. To conclude, although making sugary foods and drinks more expensive at the first glance seems a rapid simple way of propelling the nation to a healthier nourishing habit, in my opinion, it would not be long-lasting enough. I believe that in such a widespread issue we need to apply more sustainable strategies which would lead our society to better choices instead of sugary products.