In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicle will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, all vehicles will be driverless, with only passengers inside. I firmly believe that the advantages of this scheme outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, the introduction of driverless vehicles will undoubtedly replace traditional human drivers in their jobs. Currently, hundreds, if not thousands, of people work as commercial or public transportation drivers. Once self-driving vehicles are employed, these human drivers will become redundant. Consequently, they will need to invest time in finding new job to sustain their livelihoods. This prospect is particularly unappealing to those in middle age. Nevertheless, I contend that experienced drivers, with many years of knowledge about the structure and operation of vehicles, might transition to roles as mechanics, specializing in maintenance services and automotive repairs. On the other hand, the replacement of traditional drivers offers more frequent journeys, especially for long-distance trips. Since driving will be under artificial intelligence control, it will not be subject to the physical constraints that affect human drivers. This creates an opportunity for significantly improved the amount of trips. For instance, consider commercial drivers in Vietnam who often undertake North-South trips to transport products or foodstuff. Such journeys require demanding conditions on drivers, including staying awake for extended periods, to minimize trip duration, and they must also maintain good health. These expectations are not always realistic, as human drivers are susceptible to fatigue and illness. In contrast, driverless cars can turn these expectations into reality, resulting in faster and denser transportation. This means that products will be delivered to customers much sooner, bringing significant benefits to the owners. In conclusion, whether they are personal or commercial, all vehicles will likely be driverless in the future. While this transformation may result in the displacement of traditional drivers and job loss, I remain firm in my belief that it will lead to smoother and more efficient transportation systems.