Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling if for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste management is a major concern for many countries. However, some believe that a large proportion of household waste is not recycled. Hence the government should imply rules. In my opinion, even though legal obligations will make a difference, it is not the best way to solve this problem. In this essay, I will discuss why I think the law cannot make a significant difference. To begin with, if the authorities enforce a rule to recycle home waste, many people will obey to stay out of trouble. In addition, if anyone disobeys the rules, there will be fines or other charges. But it won't be a viable solution because many people will find ways to escape the charges and still do the wrong thing. For example, if someone gets a fine for putting their recyclable waste in general waste, they can say their child did it and get away with that because authorities cannot prove that an adult did it. Therefore, laws will not have a big impact on this matter. However, if we can educate the public and teach them the real importance of recycling, they will do it willingly. For instance, the government can introduce waste management as a subject for young students. It will have a better effect because when children realise that it's for their own future they will take action and they can change their parent's habits. Since it is not a forceful act many will follow the guidelines. In short,educating people will change their mindset and they will voluntarily contribute to solving the wastage issue. In conclusion, I mentioned why legal obligations are not the best option. Moreover, I emphasised the impact of educating the general public to do the right thing. I think making people aware of the consequences of not recycling their waste will be a better long term answer.