Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

It is becoming more common among young graduates to postpone their further academic studies for a year to broaden their world views. Although there are controversial opinions about this, I believe this can be beneficial for students for several reasons that are mentioned below. Firstly, people are realizing the importance of selecting a profession based on one’s internal preferences. By travelling to new places, students find time to explore their interests and find out what career path they want to choose. This often happens when young people start to do various activities, like volunteer work, while they are travelling. Therefore, when they finish their gap year, they will have a sense of what they are going to do with their lives, since they have a better understanding of themselves and the world. Although some people might argue that taking a gap year will cause students to lose academic momentum, not experiencing other activities will result in academic burnout. Furthermore, in today's job market employers are looking for multiskilled employees. By taking a gap year, students get the chance to learn new skills, such as a new language, that can boost their profession prospects in the future. Additionally, by working alongside local residents, not only students participate in improving local communities, but also acquire soft skills, namely communication and teamwork. For this reason, eminent institutions like Harvard University and Stanford University have begun to incorporate programs for their students to work abroad voluntarily, to gain new abilities other than academic expertise. in conclusion, there are numerous benefits to taking a gap year before applying for a job or university as soon as they graduate. Not only do they become more competent in their future jobs, knowing that they attained the necessary skills, but also, they get to find their true passion in life.