Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that we are living in an era where commercials play an important role in our daily decisions. While there are ongoing debates about whether advertising can help public make informed decisions or not, I strongly believe that a lot of adverts create artificial wants for two compelling reasons. To begin with, nowadays individuals are bombarded by different kinds of adverts ranging from leaflets and flyers to product placement in movies. Simply put, people often buy things only because of the image of power, success, and glamour associated with them. Take the latest version of iPhones as an obvious example. Before releasing new products, this company promoted its features by creating a lot of content on different platforms such as social media and direct emails. As a result, people create long lines in front of Apple Stores to purchase the latest version of that company’s cell phones. For the most part, this new mobile does not offer any new practical features. People often buy them just because they want to showcase that they align with trends. Furthermore, advertising is often for products and services that we do not really need. In fact, the ultimate aim of advertising is to subtly persuade people to buy things. For instance, there is no need to advertise fast food because it is already everywhere, in school canteens, in supermarkets, and in the high street. However, there is an increasing number of fast food adverts on TV and billboards. For example, studies have shown a clear link between the regular consumption of fast food and obesity among children since they are easily influenced by commercials and cannot then pester their parents to buy certain products. In conclusion, although some people believe that adverts enable people to compare products and services as well as help them by informing them, I once again restate my opinion that they can lead to consumerism by persuading people to purchase things that they do not need. It also could have a negative impact on society.