Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that the authorities should invest money in railroads instead of roads. Even though there are many benefits of railroad construction, I strongly believe that both systems should be equally invested. I will discuss some possible reasons for this statement from my perspective. On the one hand, railways should be constructed and innovated due to their benefits. Having said that, the increasing population growth these days has been posing a lot of pressure on the traffic system which only streets in the urban would not counteract such problematic mobility. Thus, the construction of the railways would benefit from individuals travelling. Without such investment, citizens are thought to suffer from traffic jams which would lead to many unexpected consequences such as being late for work. On the other hand, there is a widely held view among people that roads should be taken into account because of their negative impacts. In fact, many streets in the city have been downgrading, which is supposed to cause more and more pitying accidents. Therefore, it is pivotal for governments to expense money on upgrading and widening so that the movement circulation would be smoother. Had the highways been innovated, the public would have less suffered from the limited mobility, thereby improving the quality of life and avoiding car incidents. In conclusion, railroads should be erected to be able to disperse the flow of transport in the city, however, the governments had better place an emphasis on the road system in order that travelling back and forth would be less limited.