In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In today's world, many people prefer reading books in an electronic format instead of a physical copy. In my opinion, the merits of this development clearly outweigh its demerits. One of the cogent advantages of e- books is that they are economically more viable. Customers usually buy them at a cheaper price. For example, a book in an electronic format is usually cheaper than its physical counterparts because the publisher does not have to invest money in printing and distributing it. Moreover, the popularity of e- books has increased as it is more convenient to store them. Readers can store thousands of books on the devices that they use for reading, thus overcoming the limitations of a physical bookshelf. Additionally, they can shuffle between books easily on their devices rather than carrying many books with them while travelling on a train or at the airport, for example. Nevertheless, one of the drawbacks of this trend is that people nowadays do not get the sensory pleasure that owning a paper book was able to provide. The smell of a new book and the texture of the pages makes the process of reading more pleasant. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the advantages of an electronic book in terms of, cost efficiency and convenience outweigh the disadvantages such as loss of pleasure in the process of reading.