Many people prefer to communicate with their online friends than to socialize with people in their local communities. Do you think it has more advantages than disadvantages?

Many would today like to chat with their online friends, rather than hang around with their neighbours. Although online chat may help to keep the distance friendship, communicating with the local community will be important to face everyday problems. Hence, this writer believes that the disadvantages of above mention notion are far away from its advantages. To begin with, when we consider online chatting with a friend who lives in another country, it would important to continue the friendship as well as frequently update them about their lives. Furthermore, this may help to share their own knowledge with each other and sometimes it may create new opportunities in business and new jobs as well. To illustrate this, one of my close friends has started a new business to export fresh vegetables to Dubai, after having a discussion with his friend via Facebook. On the other hand, communication with the local community is far more important since, for any problem you could face in the real life, you have to get support from your neighbourhood rather than friends abroad. Moreover, unlike friends on the internet, they will help you physically in situations like funerals, weddings or even if you are sick and they would share your problem and do their best to help you. For example, when one of my arnt in Colombo got sick about 2 months back and her neighbours have had helped her to admit to the hospital since she lives alone. In conclusion, even though people prefer to chat with distant friends on the internet, it is more important to communicate with locals in day to day life since it would keep them safe and protective. Hence, this writer believes that chatting on the internet rather than communicating with locals would give you more disadvantages than advantages.