In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the Internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In this modern world, the majority of people are started working from home with the advanced of technology instead of going to the workplace. While there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this topic, the beneficial aspects take precedence over the detrimental. On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of working from home. Firstly, employees are become bored and lazy as they are working alone in their house without being able to communicate with colleagues. When they work alone for too many hours, they may feel loneliness and isolated. As a result, their productivity can be decreased and can cause mental health problem. Moreover, some household can be too crowded and can have young children, so the employees cannot be concentrated in their work and can get disruption when doing zoom meeting or video conferencing. Despite the negatives mentioned above, there are several benefits of working from home. One of the advantages is that employees can have freedom while working, as they can wear more comfortably and they can have a flexible schedule. Moreover, it is time saving for most of the employees as they do not need to travel a long distance everyday between their home and their workplace as well as they do not need to prepare to go to work. In addition, it is the most suitable condition during the current situation as in many countries; most of the companies are shut down because of Covid 19. Therefore, working form home is the better way in order to prevent the spread of the virus. In conclusion, there are some detrimental effects of work from home such as employees ’ mental health and lack of communication. However, there are a multitude of advantages that can made employees much more productive and get a sense of freedom.