Many people put their personal information onlinne (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been increasingly common for people these days to store their personal data online for several purposes including signing up, shopping and doing online transactions. Although this tendency may seem to have some downsides, in my opinion, it brings much more benefits to the users. First and foremost, when individuals save their personal data on their gadget and set them on an auto-fill mode, they will not have to go through the frustrating and repetitive process to log in as the electronic devices do a better job in saving data accurately than humans typing them. This will enable users to enjoy their experience of using technology in a more convenient way. For example, when a person wants to buy some products from an e-commerce platform such as Amazon or Aliexpress, they can save their personal information while making their first purchase, and once they do so, they are not required to fill in those details again and again. Moreover, it is easier communication that people can advantage of from putting personal statistics like telephone numbers and email addresses. In other words, people can search each other on social media websites such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter using the piece of info they know, which will enable them to connect with others and get closer irrespective of their physical location. Some may argue that no one should put their personal information online because they could be prone to identity theft, cybercrime and scammers. However, I believe they could avoid these potential risks by not clicking on random links, which are not reliable, and by setting their social media profiles to private settings so that only close friends have access to their personal data. To conclude, having personal information online is a positive development as it helps users to perform some online tasks like logging in and shopping more conveniently. Nevertheless, people should be thoughtful while entering some websites and sharing details so as to avoid potential dangers.