Despite a large number of gyms, a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity in the contemporary world. What problems are associated with this? What solutions can you suggest?

These days, with all the provided comforts presented by the world, many people choose to become a couch potato who are fond of spending most hours sitting and lying down, with very little exercising in their daily life. This so-called inactive lifestyle grows rapidly and becomes a new habit in our society regardless of the person, even though it is also known that numerous fitness facilities exist around us. However, people should realize that this unhealthy lifestyle brings some issues related to health problems which is explained later below followed by the solutions that can be offered. Many of our leisure time is spent by sitting activities for example while using a computer or other device, watching television or playing video games. Moreover, our jobs also become more sedentary with long days sitting at a desk in front of the screen. Having an inactive lifestyle will affect the person’s body and can be one of the causes of many chronic illness. This can happen because this lifestyle makes people more likely to gain weight, decrease their metabolism, develop a hormonal imbalance, lose muscle strength and endurance and weaken the immune system. As the result is some health risks such as obesity, heart disease, stroke, high blood pressure, diabetes will be unavoidable. There are some ways to avoid the sedentary lifestyle, but getting exercise regularly becomes the easiest way to do. It might be hard on the first try, people just need to start slowly. Exercising is not only about going to gyms but physical activities at home or at work also can be considered as a form of exercise. Housework, gardening are one of the activities that can help people stay active at home. Meanwhile, taking the stairs instead of the elevator or walking around the building during break time will keep people moving at the office. In conclusion, having sedentary lifestyle can raise health issue for people. The more sedentary people are, the higher the health risks are. But getting exercising or keep moving becomes the best solution to improve the quality of life.