Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, many stationery for handwriting such as a pen, pencil or brush tend to be less used. From my perspective, this tendency can be explained by the development of digital devices and people ’s demand for convenience. Along with this,I believe that the downward trend of writing by hand can bring beneficial improvement, especially in education. To begin with, the diminishing preference for handwritten forms is due to the tendency of technological advancements and the priority for convenience. Firstly, it is true that the rise of the digital era has led to the appearance of new devices. In particular, it is undeniable that many tools such as smartphones or laptops can enhance people's typing of words faster than writing by hand. In a study at Harvard University, it was recorded that people can type around 40 words in a minute, while just writing about 15 words. Moreover, the convenience of digital tools might be a highlighted point for people who have forgotten many traditional ones. In many industrialization and modernization countries, Japan for example, people tend to lead hectic daily lives and usually in the high density of travelling around town by walking or transportation from home to workplace. Thus, their priority is to carry stuff as lightly as possible and instead of preparing notebooks, documents and pencil cases for writing, a small table can be a helping hand due to its effectiveness in storing paper documents and arranging folders. Furthermore, I hold a belief that this tendency can be beneficial for future development, especially in education. Firstly, it is true that the majority of students have noted lessons with pens, pencils or brushes in the current era. However, it could be a breakthrough point in the upcoming time that schools should switch to storing and sharing electronic lessons online and distribute each student a new stationery, an iPad for studying. Therefore, they can do all tasks and homework on a small tablet, rather than carrying a heavy package of books, notebooks and many more stationery from school to home and vice versa. Besides, because of the school operation each year releasing a ton of wasted paper, the improvement of digital devices can be a more environmentally friendly solution. Because the long span of devices tends to be higher than paper documents in the aspect of storing information. In conclusion, the trend that fewer people write by hand is due to the significant development of the digital era, in which people tend to meet the demand for convenience. This change also affirms that many traditional tools might be replaced by technological devices in several positive aspects, especially storing information in education.