In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Kids in some traditions are frequently instructed that by putting in continuous effort they can get whatever they want. This essay will shed light on both advantages and disadvantages of such an instruction. To begin with, there are certain benefits of saying "keep trying". Firstly it will encourage children not to give up till they get what they desire. As a result, this behaviour will attach to their personality and it will help them to confront difficult situations in life. Another key advantage is that they become more focused and productive towards their goal. For example, Bruce Lee, a legendary actor and martial artist, was taught to never give up, as a, result he was so focused on the work that he became one of the greatest actors of all time. However, there are some disadvantages that are also associated with the saying of try-hard. Firstly, if children do not get what they want after taking so many attempts they will lose confidence and this will affect their mental health. Furthermore, this will exert unnecessary pressure on them and they might lose their friends and family as they become extremely focused. For instance, a growing body of research suggests that the majority of the children who commit suicide can't bear the societal pressure. In conclusion, telling young adults not to give up till they get what they want can have both positive and negative developments. They become motivated and focused on their goal and at the same,time some will lose confidence and become isolated.