We have become a throw-away society, preferring to buy new products rather than repairing the existing items. What do you think are the reasons? How can this trend be reversed?

In recent times, a new trend has appeared regarding dealing with broken devices. While repairing machines such as mobile phones has become relatively expensive, buying new devices has become more appealing. I am convinced that repairing items is considered the suitable option and the right solution for those who are addicted to buying new items. In the beginning, the main reason why a specific segment follows the trend of buying new items instead of repairing them is due to the influence of persuasive advertisements. In other words, consumers seek new products only for social appearance anxiety and to avoid wasting time in maintenance centres. For instance, businessmen never miss any opportunity to exhibit their social level and for sure to save their valuable time. Thus, the richest people always tend to purchase new products rather than fixing them. On the other hand, for people who are addicted to buying, there is a great solution to reverse this habit, which is to establish conscious campaigns for repairing old devices instead of throwing them away. To illustrate, awareness advertisements are a necessity for those who suffer from excessive purchasing. A prime example is according to a survey by Alexandria University, that people who overbuy instead of repairing old devices suffer from social appearance anxiety as a result of societal pressure. Hence, what can be said is that fixing products is not shameful in itself but it is a result of some social standards. In conclusion, after this essay, it can be reiterated that the main reason for opting for new products is that it will give them a good image in front of their relatives, and buying consumes less time compared to the maintenance of broken products. To solve that, authorities should establish various campaigns to reverse that trend. I believe that repairing what we already have is better than buying a new one.