Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some scholars decide to not hold student status in the period of high school graduation and the beginning of University. Diving themselves into an outside world is more beneficial for them. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement. The major reason is that work and travel can show them realities Generally speaking, they could provide them with realistic problems, and how they could be learnt from a particular situation to prevent it from occurring again in the future. For example, if a youngster goes to work in an unfamiliar country, they may face cultural differences issues. Therefore, the only way they could survive in the circumstance, they must learn to intimidate, stepping out of their comfort zone. Certainly, this is what something education place cannot give them. Most of them will choose to work and travel. Another viewpoint is they need time to take a break from education and find their true aspiration. In general, students study for over 12 years to finish their high school degree. Undoubtedly, this caused them to feel exhausted and need a space for exploring a new aspect of this world that could be able to deliver thrilling feelings to them. In addition, being in non-academic life will let them know themselves better, as they have more time to process things they literally need in their life before they make ongoing decisions on paths they want to pursue. And for these reasons, there are plenty of benefits they could have from taking a gap year. In conclusion, non-academic life has positive effects on students because education cannot provide them with real-life situations, and it blurs their aspirations from what they are fascinated to do in the future.