In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

Traditional festivals and celebrations are an important part of cultural heritage, providing a connection to the past and a sense of community for present-day generations. However, in some parts of the world, these events are disappearing, and it is important to understand why this is happening and what measures can be taken to ensure their survival. Several related problems can be anticipated for the decline of traditional festivals is modernisation and urbanization. As communities become more focused on economic development and modern ways of life, traditional festivals may fall by the wayside. Additionally, globalization has led to the spread of new cultural influences, which can sometimes overshadow or diminish the importance of traditional events. In addition, the appearance of commercial holidays such as Black Friday and Christmas are gaining in popularity which naturally threatens smaller cultural groups and their festivals. For example, in China, there are numerous ethnic groups living in remote areas that struggle to preserve their traditions over time as locals learn more about the outside world and leave their hometowns. As these groups disperse further both physically and virtually it will be a challenge for old traditions to persist and the results may impact the stories they hand down through generations, their language, traditional dishes, and other aspects of culture. Not only that, civilization also contributes to this problem, and most parents do not teach their children about their traditional celebrations and culture. Youngsters are occupied with technology gadgets, movies and social networks. For instance, a survey carried out in Briggs school on cultural values, celebration and attire results shows that 80% of the pupils are not knowledgeable about their culture and traditional festivals. The government could implement a range of measures to deal with the problems of losing traditional festivals and celebrations. Firstly, it is important to raise awareness and promote education about the cultural and historical significance of these events. This can be done through cultural festivals, exhibitions, and educational programs, which can help to promote a greater understanding of the value of traditional festivals. For instance, states could fund organizations that aim to promote traditional festivals by staging local events and reaching out to older members of the community. Additionally, parents and teachers should teach the younger students the value of their own culture. There is nothing wrong in knowing about the foreign culture but when they become our main culture, problems arise. As the citizen of a country, we must not forget our history, tradition and culture. Thus the patriotic feelings should be nurtured to be even better citizens and prevent the detrimental effects of alien cultures. Moreover, more chapters on academic syllabus should be dedicated to teaching the students about our true identity, cultural aspects and traditions. This will create a sense of respect and adherence to our own culture. Another important measure is to involve younger generations in the planning and execution of traditional festivals. This can help to preserve the cultural traditions by passing them down to future generations, thus ensuring their continued relevance. To conclude, each tradition has its own set of traditional occasions and events which should be more emphasised than the foreign traditions. Building up an acute sense of patriotism and respect for our own culture is required to save our true cultural identity.