It is as important to teach children to protect the environment as it is to teach them to read and write. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that teaching children how to protect the environment is as essential as teaching them to be literate. Regarding this, I do not agree with this assertion since I believe that learning how to read and write is more important than learning an environmental protection. Firstly, if students learn reading skill and writing skill as fast as possible, they can be prevalent others in education as they can read more books than other ones. Since reading facilitate children to grow to be patient and knowledgeable, it affects their grades in the future. For example, a recent media in Korea reports that almost 30% of students who learned to be literate at an early age tend to gain higher grades than others because they have read more books. This example clearly illustrate, teaching kids to read and write plays a key factor in getting higher score in a school. Secondly, children can learn another language after they finish to learn mother tongue, thereby leading to be hired by an empolyer employee in this competitive society. As Kids are easily feel confused when they learn several launguages at the same time, so it is a good idea that they learn their own language first,and then learn others. Therefore, as they learn quickly, they can have more chances to learn other languages. What is more, due to globalization, a significant number of companies prefer to employ multi lingualists dealing with foreigners. Hence, it is reasonable to say that learning reading and writing is an efficient means of working at a global company. In conclusion, as skills to read and write affects children's grades and future occupation, there is no doubt to point out that learning them is more valuable for their future than learning how to protect environment.