Some people think international cooperation has brought benefits to world environment protection, while some people think more benefits has been brought to international business. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this globalization era where the country’s border-line seems blurred, every nation is well connected. Although international cooperation is managed to work together on tackling global challenges, such as environmental preservation, some believe that the only benefit from such collaboration is economic growth. There are valid opinions on both sides which I will explore now. On the one hand, to cope with environmental protection issues that happen worldwide, support from international collaboration will be extremely beneficial to address. For instance, The Paris Agreement, a legally binding international treaty on climate change held in 2016, encouraged over 170 parties to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. In addition, through this cooperation, close to 30 countries have jointly pledged US$4.1 billion to safeguard the world’s forests, build green cities, protect threatened wildlife, and solve marine plastic pollution. The aim to limit global warming to well below 2 °C, therefore, is highly possible to achieve in the near future by such collaboration. On the other hand, people who are opposing the view believe that cross-border cooperation has contributed more to the international market boom rather than environmental protection. One salient example of this is Freeport-McMoRan, the biggest copper and gold company from the US who make a long-term deal with Indonesian Government, apparently enjoying the fruits of its exploitation of Papua Island. The indigenous tribes claim their communities have been racked with poverty, disease, oppression and habitual degradation since the mine began operations in 1973. Thus, it can be clearly seen that multinational businesses primarily target to earn a huge profit rather than contribute to improving the environment. To sum up, I firmly believe that mutual effort among different nations has benefited with the business level which is far greater than the environment protection. Hence, there should be stricter laws and rules to regulate a company’s activities to avoid the larger devastating effect on natural surroundings.