Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the increasing numbers of plants and animals’ extinction become our main environmental problem while others believed that there are some more important environmental issues that we should consider. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the preservation of species is more crucial. On the one hand, advantage of conserving the species of plants and animals is they are the major contribution to food resources that we, as a human consume daily. In other words, it is the cycle of life of predator and prey where if there are no plants for animals to eat then humans will not have livestock. For instance, sunflower is the main meal of cows and if the sunflower has been demolished, cows would lose their nutrition and as a result meat will be scarce due to the unhealthy cows. Therefore, the longer they live, the less chance of us facing food scarcity On the other hand, other natural hazards such as air pollution, floods, deforestation and climate change can be more severe than the loss of species. This is because it happened in our daily life, and may provide the closest disrupt in the way of living and most important there was more frequent to occur. As in the real life example, tsunami, caused by a volcanic eruption and soil erosion, can take many lives including plants all at once and within a few minutes. Another example, air pollution has severely affected Thai people due to the higher number of vehicles that caused traffic congestion. This means exhaust fumes emitted from those cars has resulted in people suffering from lung cancer and eventually reflected to growing number of deaths. Thus, there is no minority of other environmental problems. In conclusion, we should take into an account to preservation of those animals and plants, and forbid such action that can cause the loss of species since they were the only reason we still survive in on this planet.