Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Since ancient times, culture has played a vital role in societies all around the globe. Thus, different culture has their own unique beliefs and traditions. Therefore, it is argued that you can assess an individual's culture and character from their attire. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the above-mentioned statement. Firstly, as a result of globalization, the world has become quite a smaller place. The easy access to international markets, especially the fashion industry, changed the lifestyle of almost everyone. What a person wears is no longer bound by culture or religious restrictions. Everyone has their own prefered choice of dressing, it is their fundamental right. For example, the young generation all over India wears western-style outfits even though India has its own unique fashion styles shaped by cultural influences. Hence, judging others' culture based on what he or she wears is nearly impossible in our current day and age. Secondly, in the case of appearance and personality, appearance can be somewhat deceptive. Neither a well-dressed person necessarily be good, nor someone who is dressed scruffily necessarily is bad. For instance, recently, there's been an increasing number of reports on fake and self-proclaimed prophets who have exploited their believers. Though they were in holy cloths, their act was quite devious. For this reason, it is clear that how a person dresses cannot be used for evaluating their quality in any way. In summary, with the points mentioned above, I strongly disagree with the statement that someone's culture and character can be determined by what they wear.