Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Today's world is the world of technology that has brought globalisation to every sector of life. Social media sites are the ones that played a significant role in globalisation. But some believe these stations have a pessimistic effect on youth and had affected their ability to make personal relationships while others think this is a medium for connecting people in a good way. However, I agree with both notions to a certain extent. The first and foremost reason why some support Facebook and Twitter is because it helps in maintaining long-distance relationships. With the help of these, sites people can connect to their loved ones or friends at any time and can see the stuff they post on their profiles on a daily basis which helps them to feel as they are not very far from one another. To illustrate, Facebook helped me to connect with my husband who went to a foreign country for studies and lived there for almost eight years. It really helped us to feel that we were not very far from each other because we used to video call each other with the help of Facebook. In addition to, this we also met each other on one of the famous social media sites of that time called 'Orkut'. In this way,sometimes these social media sites help in making new relationships and also contribute to maintaining these relations for a long period of time. On the other hand, sometimes these websites do have a negative impact on the young generation when they are caught in the trap of web liers. Because it is not possible for someone to verify another person by simply checking his profile. The information provided by the netizen could be wrong. Therefore, adults should be aware of the possible outcomes of making strangers a friend on these sites. For example, there is a program called 'Web Liers' telecasts on one of the American channels' Investigation Discovery' where they show some real stories of the people who caught in the trap of the other person on these types of sites and mostly those people are kind of obsessed in some way who ultimately murder the victims. So the young generation should be aware of this kind of people on social media sites. Another example would be the 'Blue whale game' in which hundreds of children ended up their lives by doing suicide. In conclusion, Facebook and Twitter can always be beneficial if one uses these websites in an appropriate way. Parents should also keep eye on their young ones and teach them the negative effects of these sites.