Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people's lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often assumed that the carefree youth is the happiest time in people's lives. However, some people believe that adulthood is the life stage that brings the greatest happiness. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue. On one hand, adolescence may be considered the happiest moment in a person's life. Teenagers have no responsibilities aside from going to school o playing sports, so they have a lot of free time and this allows them to travel and to have more fun than adults. Nevertheless, it should be considered that adolescents are very sensitive and many of them are not able to fit in the society. This feeling of inadequacy may lead them to depression. Therefore, I opine that the teenage years are very delicate and difficult for young kids because they are not only full of physical changes, but they are also crucial for them to understand who they are and what they want to become in the future. On the other hand, adulthood is often assumed to be the happiest period of people's lives. This is because older people are more self-aware and they have the means to do whatever they want without asking permission. However, adults have more responsibilities, for instance, they must work to be able to sustain their families or to pay the rent. To give a clear example, recent research states that older people mesmerize the teenage years not because they were younger but because they had fewer responsibilities and social pressure. To sum up, I think that adolescence is considered the happiest period of life by adults because they see it as a carefree time. Nevertheless, I opine that teenagers look at adulthood as the best phase since they want to be independent and free to do everything they want.