The number of students who choose to study mathematics at university is low. Why do you think this is? What can be done about this situation?

It has been observed that high schools graduates are not very interested in studying mathematics at the tertiary level. I believe exploring the causes of this problem can assist in finding suitable solutions to help resolve it. The old-fashioned way mathematics is taught in schools could account for a lack of desire to study this subject at university. Many schools, unfortunately, follow dull methods and therefore, maths has become a dry and tedious subject. Consequently, high school students do not pick this subject as their university major. If the educational authorities designed a contemporary and intriguing way of learning mathematics, pupils would be interested more in studying this subject. For example, using new applications close to real life could be a remedy. As a result, students would be curious about practical uses of mathematics and opt to study it further at university. The reason why maths has become less interesting among pupils is due to the fact that exams are really gruelling. Hence, they have lost their interest during the time spent at school. For instance, my friend was good at maths but because of the harsh exams and low marks, she did not choose this subject for further study. One effective way to resolve this difficulty is to reassess the exams ' measures. If schools designed standard and simple questions for maths exams, the students could pass them with high marks, and they would be more enthusiastic and feel successful and self-confident. In conclusion, the educational authorities and schools could solve this problem by launching more contemporary and trendy programs and reassessing the exams.