One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the development of advanced medical technology and healthcare, human beings have been living longer than before. As a consequence, people have a long life expectancy. Some people are concerned about this phenomenon, while I believe there are more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, a longevity life is both advantageous to individuals and society. To begin with, modern people are leading a high-paced lifestyle, the majority of them are only able to relax after retirement. If they can live longer, it means citizens own more time to enjoy their lives and accompany with families. For example, the old generation can go travelling or join various activities, which enrich their lives. In addition, the elderly are also a huge source of wisdom, they also contribute many wise suggestions to the government, thus our state will develop better. On the other hand, increasing life expectancy will contribute to the burden of the government too, since the authorities have to utilize enormously financial investment on the pension. Whereas the government could have subsidised other aspects, such as education or infrastructure. Apart from that, the old people will occupy most of the hospital beds since they normally have worse physical conditions and need more healthcare, resulting in fewer vacancy rooms for young people or kids who need more medical treatment. In conclusion, even long life expectancy will have some adverse impacts on society, I still firmly advocate that living longer can give more opportunities to enjoy the limited lives for individuals,family members and benefit society too.