In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the upcoming decade, very few citizens are going to buy books or newspapers since they will have digital access, thanks to the internet, to the same content for free. I strongly agree with this assertion for two reasons which I will elucidate further in the passage. First of all, one of the major reasons for shifting to electronic media is that in the future books and newspapers are going to be expensive. The reason is deforestation and converting agricultural land into residential property due to which processing trees into paper will become expensive as the number of trees will decrease. For example, the cost of a newspaper in India in the year 2015 is 2 Rupees which becomes 10 Rupees in 2022 due to the decline in forest land. Similarly, the cost of books is also increasing day by day, while the price of internet packs are decreasing on regular basis. Thus people are transitioning towards digital newspapers and books. Furthermore, online media provides greater flexibility and accessibility to consumers as compared to conventional modes of reading. Books have weight and they can not be carried everywhere, while their digital versions can be accessed through smartphones which can fit easily inside the pocket. Electronic media provides flexibility in a sense as they can be surfed anytime and anywhere. For instance, we can access a year old newspaper with just a few clicks on a smartphone and can load thousands of books inside it. In conclusion, I believe that in future most people will shift to electronic media as this is cheap, easy to access and provides much more flexibility as compared to traditional print media.