Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

In this day and age, it is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that using social media sites has many advantages. However, others argue that it has some drawbacks. Regarding this, I strongly believe that the negative aspects of using social media sites overwhelm the positive sides. On the one hand, some believe that social media facilitates people to make friendships over the world. A significant number of people can share their ideas through the specific sites such as Instagram and Facebook, thereby leading to gathering with like-minded people. This trend helps individuals sharing their norms and interests. What is more, they can exchange different languages. For example, a survey conducted by the Korea Media Foundation has revealed that almost 30% of social media users are satisfied with making foreign friends. As the example clearly illustartes, the social media users indeed can meet various friends in this globalized world. On the other hand, there are several issues owing to anonymity. Firstly, an excessive use of social media causes health problems. people who are shy and lonely think anonimity is attractive as they can have a chance to get attentions from the public. As shy individuals are getting addicted to use social media, they sometimes cannot distinguish between reality and virtual life. What is more, anonymous criminals target innocent people by hacking and phishing since it is hard to chase them. For instance, a recent media in Korea reports that about 20% of people have experienced cyber crimes on social media. Hence, it is reasonable to point out that there are negative effects of using them. In conclusion, while I accept that social media can sometimes be attractive, there is no doubt to point out that the negative impacts are more serious than the positive ones.