Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few believe that the surge in the utilization of computing machines and smartphones has adversely impacted the reading and writing skills of the youth. With the advent of technology, the traditional methods of grasping information have been exacerbated. I believe that if such advancement is used judiciously then the effects can be reversed. Firstly, the over usage of gadgets has deteriorated our writing abilities. Moreover, adolescents are habitual for using cyber slang in each of their conversations. Which in turn, has affected their vocabulary and word spelling. For example, in today's time, 'CU', 'LOL' and 'W8' are such kinds of abbreviations that are globally used by the younger generation. Secondly, the autocorrection feature has further jeopardised the inculcation of written skills, as this feature does not allow us to understand grammatical errors or misspelt words. To illustrate, applications such as Grammarly autocorrect sentences and words within a few seconds. Additionally, amateurs have a lot of interest in reading books. They are allured towards watching youtube videos on computers and playing games on mobile. For instance, as per a recent poll in America, 63.33% of children use electronic machines for reading instead of traditional books. Furthermore, these days, kids only study to pass the examination without the sense of understanding the concepts. This has immensely impacted the graduates being produced. However, there are certain innovations such as kindle, which can help to enhance a child's glossary and develop an interest in reading. In addition to this, in the supervision of elders computers can also be used by immatures to perceive good educational skills. As an example, with the onus of parents, some children excel in their academics with the extra knowledge gained from computers. In conclusion, I reiterate that the gradual increase in the usage of modern communication methods has definitely impacted the reading and writing skills of young people. Whereas, if these technological gadgets are wisely used then they help to revoke their negative impacts.