Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A controversial issue today relates to whether advertisements have a great impact on our purchase decision or they are becoming so familiar that we rarely notice them. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspectives. On the one hand, there are people who argue that advertising activities play an important role in our purchases. The primary reason for this belief is that consumers tend to buy products promoted by celebrities or people with big influences on social media platforms such as Tiktok or Instagram. The fact is that lots of ordinary people trust their idols and are willing to buy anything they recommend. Another cause is the frequent appearance of these goods on various channels to potential purchasers, which triggers them to buy advertised products. In addition, promotional programs also affect the buying decision of some individuals. People, in general, prefer goods offered with incentives, the higher the discount is, the more products are sold. On the other hand, it is argued that in recent years advertisements are so widespread that they do not draw much attention from viewers anymore. In fact, we are all overwhelmed by the majority of advertisements on different means of media such as television, social media or even public places like billboards or bus stops. As a result, most customers are highly likely to forget adverts about products or services that they have ever been exposed to. More than that, many companies apply the puffery technique in introducing their products to customers so smart users are becoming more cautious/aware before making any shopping decisions. In conclusion, even though many people suppose that advertising activities are not successful anymore, I still hold a firm belief that they still have a profound impact on customers’ decisions.