GENETIC ENGINEERING IS AN IMPORTANT ISSUE IN MODERN SOCIETY. SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT IT WILL IMPROVE PEOPLE´S LIVES IN MANY WAYS. OTHER FEEL THAT IT MAY BE A THREAT TO LIFE ON EARTH. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

To some people, genetic engineering is the solution for our society, while for others, it may become a problem. I believe that this issue is quite interesting and must be applied for special cases. Many people think that genetic engineering could be highly beneficial in our society because of its benefits on people's health and food safety. For example, medical technologically advanced outperform that of 20 years ago, which in turn could help many people who suffer from chronic disease, or even cancer. Likewise, genetic engineering has developed plants resistant to disease or pests and their yields are higher than the conventional ones. In my opinion, I believe that genetic engineering is a tool that could improve or enhance our quality of life, however this need to be studied carefully in order to avoid consequences that could take their toll on society, the environment, etc. On the other hand, others believe that this could be extremely detrimental to life on earth because there is more to genetic engineering than modifying the structure of plants, it is about losing biodiversity, or even unknown experiments could be carried on without the supervision of authorities. For,example there are some crops that are being studied by scientists and they are modifying their DNA structure without studying their impact on the environment or even food security. Undoubtedly, I believe that genetic engineering could impact our biodiversity or on our health regardless of their benefits. In conclusion, whether or not genetic engineering could improve people's health or increase the yield of crops, this definitely could affect our diversity of flora due to the standardization of the crops that could lead to an irreversible state, and besides all the ecological balance would be lost.