Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the majority of the governments perceive that economic development is their most important goal. However, some individuals say that there are other types of progress that are significant for a country. Arguably, increasing the employment rate is one way to gauge the stability of one country by providing more jobs to the people. For instance, the Philippine governments invest money in tourism by developing tourist places to attract foreign individuals to visit this spectacular location and explore them. This will create employment for the public in restaurants, hotel services, beverages, manufacturing and local museums. As a result, it will boost the economy of the nation. On the other hand, there are other ways to measure the progress of a nation. Firstly, providing a free health care system for the people would eliminate late medical diagnoses that would hamper them to work which will add cost for government expenses in the health care system. For example, Canada adopt free health care services for the people to prevent, diagnose and cure illnesses. These individuals will save money for their future use. In addition, governments should also invest in training security personnel to protect the public from any crimes. Hence, all these contribute to the progress of a country. In summary, some governments view economic progress as their significant goal. In my opinion, I think that there are other ways for the development of a nation by providing a free health care system and maintaining a safe environment for the people so that they will live a healthy and peaceful environment.