Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think that it provides more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think that it provides more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Across the globe, climate change is affecting many business entrepreneurs regardless of their age or background. While many perceive climate change as detrimental to businesses, others see it as an opportunity to expand further. This essay will share both views and explain why I see climate change as an opportunity rather than a deter in business growth. Climate change comes in many forms, including flash floods, global warming, droughts and tropical storms. When one of these happens to a city, businesses are mostly affected due to needing to shut down or loss of supplies. For example, recent flooding in Kuala Lumpur in February 2022 saw many eateries and shops filled with rising water which took days to weeks to clear. Similarly, those with fish farming lost their fishes due to flooding over the cages and suffered thousands of losses in profit. Hence, climate change may bring unpredictable negative impacts to businesses. Conversely, climate change can be seen as an opportunity to grow business models where necessities are properly researched to meet people’s demands. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic two years ago saw many entrepreneurs flourish when they chose to migrate their conventional sales through the physical store into an online store. It made people continue shopping online despite being in lockdown at home for many weeks to months. Furthermore, opportunities were seen by selling necessities that matched the pandemic's needs, including selling face masks, air purifiers and hand sanitisers, to list a few. In conclusion, although many people see climate transformation as a negative impact, I believe it brings more monetary gain to businesses.