Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that volunteering for community services without being paid should be involved in secondary schools' curriculum. However, I strongly disagree with this assertion as it is not feasible. To begin with, in this competitive society, academic perforation plays key factor in getting a better job in the future. Therefore, not only does parents push their kids to study academic subjects, but students may also study them instead of spending their time on involving community services. For example, a survey conducted by the Korean Education Foundation has revealed that almost 30% of parents are against their kids working for communities since they believe children should use their time on studying rather than volunteering. As the example clearly illustrates, as people do not want their children to volunteer for community services, mandatory volunteering will be rejected. Next, although schools suggest volunteering services, students will not do them sincerely as they cannot get a visible outcome since children tend not to do their best without proper rewards. For instance, recent media in Korea reports that about half of students haven't done volunteering. instead, they just have gotten signs on reports from reletives or neighbors without working. Therefore, it is reasonable to point out that unpaid work for communities among students is not realistic. In conclusion, there is no doubt to point out that unpaid-mandatory community service at schools cannot be operated since parents prefer their kids to study academic subjects, and children will not willing to work it.