Nowadays more and more people decide to have children late in life. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative trend?

It cannot be argued that more individuals are planning to have offspring later in life.The essay below will highlight two reasons why this is so, moreover, in my opinion, this is a negative trend because it has a negative impact on both women and men and on the child to be born. Many individuals prefer to have their offspring late in life due to job commitments, either they travel a lot with work or they just have a lot of things to achieve at work before they can start to plan a family. This makes them prioritise their jobs more than anything. For example, most females in the UK start planning for a child around the age of 35 to 40 years old due to job commitments. Another reason for this is financial stability, the society believes that if you are not financially stable, it is hard to raise a minor. Instead of planning on beginning a family, most individuals decide to wait until they have acquired some wealth avoiding raising offspring in poverty. For example, in Africa, a lot of people are illiterate and unemployed by the time they reach their early 30s which will not make sense for them to bring another human being to life. Lastly, this is a negative trend as it affects the mother who will want to have a child at a later stage in life. It is said that most women reach menopause by the time they reach their early 40s,which means it will be difficult to have offspring by that time. Another research in the UK discovered that most males and females who had offspring after the ages of 40 or 50s had high chances of giving birth to abnormal disabled children. In conclusion, the essay above discussed the reasons why some people choose to have children in their later stages of life whilst also making it clear that this is a negative impact on the whole society.