The percentage of overweight children in Western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss causes and effects of this disturbing trends. Give your solution for the causes.

Over the course of the last decades, the rate of obesity among the youngsters of Western countries has increased dramatically. It seems the root cause of this drastic trend, which will bring about dire consequences in the near future, is our sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, the joint effort of both parents and governments is essential, to tackle this issue. Admittedly, the main reason behind the rise in the number of overweight children is physical inactivity. In other words, the majority of young people are inclined to play video games or watch television for long hours in succession, rather than doing outdoor activities such as playing football or riding a bicycle. Obese children often face an array of problems ranging from physical to mental issues. On the one hand, the risk of suffering some illnesses like diabetes, high-pressure blood and heart disease is far more significant among overweight individuals. on the other hand, young children might lose their confidence due to the bullying of some peers. As a tangible example, a recent study at Harward University discovered that roughly half of obese students have lower self-steem. In addressing such a serious problem, some practical measures should be taken as soon as possible. First of all, some rising public awareness campaigns should be held so as to convey a well-rounded education to the concerned parents. Furthermore, if states provided advanced amenities and quality facilities, children would be tempted to leave their houses and enjoy playing in these areas. In summary, since obesity poses a serious threat to children ’s minds and bodies, some immediate actions like providing information to the public and improving recreational facilities, should be conducted.