Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people argue that advertisement has played a significant role in the world of marketing and became a successful practice for companies to influence consumers’ buying decision while it is commonly believed that these make it a normal thing. In my opinion, advertising highly contributed to the companies’ wealth even it is prevalent to people ’s perspective. On the one hand, strong persuasion through advertising can generate profits to organisations in terms of selling their products, promoting their uniqueness and differentiating from competitors. This is due to the seducing content and messages that can brainwash consumer by the frequent occurrence of advertisement in many channels and as a result make people are craving to try. For example, Kellogs, a cereal brand, repeated their adverts of eating Kellogs as your breakfast will give you energy for the rest of the day. In consumers point of view, they want to try whether it is true or not so they eventually succumbing to the advertisement at last. Undoubtedly, why advertising committed to companies’ higher sales. On the other hand, the frequency of adverts may have consequence to people negative attitudes such as boredom, frustration and annoyance. In other words, people will see those as a mere everyday routine then cease to pay attention. Even worse, they may decide to turn off their platforms if there is one shown nearby. Thus, the main objective of advertisement is not complete since their target do not receive that messages. A good example can be seen in the social media, Youtube. Its mechanism is to force people to watch the video until the end by placing ads in between the video people is watching. However, this is not actually the case, as many people would just click “Skip Ad” an continue on. In conclusion, advertisement may somehow be tolerated to consumer yet it still be the major source of income to business. Nonetheless, companies should consider the content ideation that would influence consumer otherwise it will appear to be a common ad which people always skip.