With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology has become an indispensable part of human lives. It is believed that some people who are living in the contemporary era will never feel isolated as they are provided with online communication. This would make it even easier for them to make new friends. I do not entirely agree with this statement and will explain the reason in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, people can interact with one another anywhere and anytime just by clicking a button on their mobile phones. Thus people do not feel much about distance between them. International students, an example, call their parents and family and can connect within seconds by using different platforms like WhatsApp, Instagram, and Facebook. Additionally, people make friends as well using such applications. However, people may still face loneliness even when they find friends online. Firstly, it is not possible all the time that individuals you meet online will be trustworthy like your loved ones. In other words, instead of becoming a support for the person, they can commit fraud on emotional and financial levels. For instance, research shows that people are having stress and depression, although they have a huge list of friends. Secondly, one might not feel comfortable to share own sorrows with others rather than blood or close relations. In conclusion, even though the technological era has made our life easy by providing a new way of communication, it is still behind in keeping individuals out of loneliness as people do not feel it right to communicate their happenings with others over the web and since no one can replace loved ones, people find it harder trust someone easily.