Weddings are more expensive in many countries nowadays when compared to the past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development

These days,getting married is becoming more expensive in many nations in comparison to the past. This is because many individuals do not understand the reason for a wedding. According to,me this is a negative development. So in this essay, I will be expanding on this matter. Many people nowadays marry for the wrong reasons. Some are only fascinated by the idea of the actual day of getting married rather than the entire marriage. These days, it's all about the status and being seen. Many are competing as to who is going to hold the best wedding, which in turn makes the whole event cost more. This is a negative effect because it leaves many in huge debts and they start off their lives paying off credits rather than enjoying their love. In the past, weddings were held for close family and friends and the idea was to celebrate love more than anything. However, recently it is more about wearing the best designs and even inviting people that you don't know simply because they are of higher status. You will hear a lot saying, 'my wedding is going to be the talk of this town.' It shows that people are marrying for different kinds of reasons, namely to be seen, to show off or to prove a point that they can do it. An example of an expensive wedding will be the one of a popular icon named Somizi and his fiancee Mohale. The wedding was beautiful. So some nations would want to copy such a wedding which is costly. To conclude, today, getting married is more expensive than before because of the mindset of the society that if it is not big it is boring.