Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

People are becoming increasingly similar because they purchase goods that are the same all over the world. I believe that this has more positive implications than any negative one. Admittedly, there are some minor drawbacks to individuals purchasing the same product worldwide. One major problem is that it leads to a reduction in prices. In other words, the amount used in buying these products will be reduced because developed countries cannot add an extra cost as they cannot determine the price alone. For example, my colleague, at the University of Lagos, was able to ship a phone from the United States of America without additional charge. As a result of this trend, prices will not be high when similar commodities are used everywhere. Nevertheless, despite the above basic demerit, I believe that the benefits associated with the similarities of individuals using the same products in diverse nations far supersede its drawbacks. One major reason is that there is a reduction in travel costs. That is, product merchandising will be effective because the cost of transportation to other nations is reduced. In addition, the quality of the commodities is not questioned. This is because other countries can sell the same commodities without fear of getting inferior goods. Take for instance the Chanel bag sold at the Oshodi market is of the same quality as that sold in the United Kingdom, individuals will not have to order online and transport from overseas, rather they will commute to the Oshodi market to purchase. Thus, reducing travel costs. In conclusion, despite the minor disadvantage associated with utilizing similar goods all over the world, I believe that the advantage far outweighs this negative point in terms of reduction in travel charge and buying of superior products. Therefore, relevant authorities should ensure that the cargo used in all nations are the same.