In order to learn a language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of the people who speak it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether students should learn about the country when they are studying a new language is of concern for many people. Some suggest that the understanding of culture and lifestyles of the local people plays a vital role in language learning while others disagree. As for me, I strongly agree with the former. There are many reasons to discuss these issues. Firstly, it will boost the study interests of the learners. As some students find that simply memorising the vocabularies and grammatical structures is boring and tedious, the foreign cultures such as living habits and local music seem to interest researchers more, which can easily satisfy their learning desires of them. When people feel that the cultural background of a country is appealing, they are willing to put more effort into the subject. Secondly, the knowledge of lifestyles and speaking manners benefits the communication with the native speakers. In order to interpret the language more precisely, speakers should be able to use or understand, for instance, the correct slang and idioms in the sentences when delivering their ideas. This can only be achieved by an investigation of the culture and mindset. However, there are some others saying that it is a waste of time to investigate irrelevant things. Numbers of them believe that they will never travel to other countries, so it is unnecessary to comprehend the local characteristics. For example, some students who enrol in a language course just want to be more employable as being multilingual is ideal when hunting for a job. To sum up, I strongly recommend people to learn the cultural background and historical tradition because it can significantly improve the study efficiency