Some people think that children should obey rules and do what their parents and teachers want them to do. Other people think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems themselves in adulthood. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People argued that parents and teachers should impose restrictions on children, however, for some people, being overprotective and controlling will hinder the development of their cognitive and problem-solving skills. This essay will tackle those viewpoints, yet, I still believe that parents and teachers should supervise them with the right balance between being stern and losing in specific conditions. Teaching children to obey rules and regulations is a contributing factor to instilling good morals and values to shape children ’s character. Learning to follow these at an early age will help them understand that there are inappropriate actions that could harm them, and there are right conducts that they need to observe. As a result, these children will grow up as decent people with noble values and behaviour. On the other hand, there are circumstances that parents and teachers tend to neglect that they at times become so domineering to enforce many rules which become detrimental to the children ’s development. For instance, youngsters need the freedom to explore things to cultivate their skills and knowledge. Since they become mindful of the rules and possible punishment for the consequence of their actions, it would lead them to limit themselves to their comfort zone. Consequently, when challenges come their way, they are more fearful to take risks and solve the problems on their own, because they become so used to consulting everything to adults, instead of doing something new on their own. In my opinion, it is significant to discipline children by teaching them to obey some rules to cultivate their values and help them understand what is right and wrong. Nevertheless, it is equally important that parents and teachers should weigh in how much they should control the children without compromising their freedom to discover other things which are vital to their upbringing and personal growth.