Many Museums Charge For Admission While Others Are Free. Do The Advantages Of This Outweigh The Disadvantages?

It is required to purchase a ticket to enter some museums, while others allow it without charging anything. This essay will discuss how the advantages of charging a fee outweigh the drawbacks. It will first be demonstrated how keeping a fee provides a constant stream of revenue and filtration of actually interested people, then we will analyze how the primary disadvantage which is blocking the creation of public interest not valid. The first advantage of charging for admission to a museum is a source of revenue for the gallery authority. Setting up and running a gallery is quite expensive, requiring trained professionals and collecting precious artefacts. A portion of this can be funded from ticket sales. For example, it is stated in a report that archaeologists are more interested in working for museums that are able to pay more handsomely. In addition to that, when they are required to pay, only people who are genuinely interested in the museum ’s contents visit there. People willing to do unwanted acts in a museum are reluctant to pay the fee. In an interview, a veteran curator told that they faced many unpleasant situations when the gallery he worked in provided free tickets. As soon as a small fee was imposed, the number of such instances dropped dramatically. In this way, paying a small premium can benefit the museum authority with both cash flow and security. On the other hand, the primary disadvantage of charging a fee is people becoming less interested in history. But it can be argued that people who do not care much about what the gallery contains are unlikely to visit anyway if the fee is removed. In the town of Maynamati, only 20-30 people visited the local museum to view the newly uncovered excavations when they had to pay a price of 30 taka. When the price for entry was withdrawn, the number remain unchanged. It was observed that the fee reduction had no effect. In conclusion, charging for admission does have advantages like providing financial support and weeding out the people creating a nuisance. It also outweighs the flawed argument that paying a premium would curb public interest. This is why I endorse charging an entry fee to visit a museum.