The best curriculum is not the one based on a static body of knowledge but the one which teaches students to cope with changes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid development of technology, our society is now facing an unprecedented challenge, especially in the area of education. Some people argue that solid basic knowledge is still the foundation no matter how the world is changing, while others proclaim that it’s time for us the make some adjustments in our current school courses for the sake of human beings’ future. I personally support the latter point of view because of the following two elementary factors. On one hand, the present educational system largely fails to meet the practical needs, because it is too formalist both from the perspective of the course contents and the teaching methods. Firstly, let’s take some of the traditional courses in schools as an example: many schools in developing countries are still focusing on those literary works which were written by people who lived in the ancient world. In order to gain their academic report, pupils learning such subjects need to pass certain examinations which are based on rote, absolutely ignoring the practical application in everyday life. Furthermore, rooted in such a rigid way of assessing, the teaching approaches can be very conventional and stereotyped, with which teachers are simply stuffing the knowledge to students rather than truly “teaching” them. Therefore, children cannot learn the skills they really need when they eventually get to the real world. On the other hand, the digital world we are living in raises higher demand for future talents who should be qualified for the position they’re applying for. For instance, workers, who are very different from the ones before, who solely needed to finish the repeated tasks, nowadays must be competent enough to deal with computer works, multitask research, and communicative issues. All of these mentioned tasks can be very contemporary, which means students can only be fully equipped by learning updated knowledge at schools, such as internet skills and cooperative capability. Only in this way, can children cultivate to be more flexible and adaptable in the real society in the future, thus be competent for the job. In conclusion, due to the out-of-date curriculum in school, and the pressing demand on future workers, I believe a relatively new and up-to-date course plan should be introduced into the current educational system.